Borough of Beaver, PA • Established 1802

Municipal Departments, Boards & Commissions

Borough Government

Municipal Departments, Boards & Commissions


Public Safety – Beaver Volunteer Fire Department

The Beaver Volunteer Fire Department located at 165 Market Street, is an organization of nearly 40 dependable, highly committed and extensively trained volunteers. Since 1836 the Beaver VFD has been protecting area residents from fire and providing many other valuable services to the community. If you are a resident of the Borough of Beaver, the Beaver VFD encourages you to join their team. For more information, visit the “Contact” page on their website or contact 724-773-6713.

Line Officers:
Fire Chief – John Grosskopf
1st Assistant Chief – Dave Meers
2nd Assistant Chief – Jim Meers
Captain – Rebecca Grosskopf
Lieutenant – Ryan Fairly
Appointed Lieutenant – Justin Quigley

Regular Department Officers:
President – Robert Boles
Vice President – Dave Linkimer
Secretary – Jamie Malloy
Treasurer – Mike Mundy

Public Safety – Beaver Police Department

The Beaver Police Department serves the residents of Beaver Borough with a department staffing including a Police Chief, two Sergeants, and six full-time Patrolmen and eight to ten part-time Officers.  They are a devoted and skilled group of professionals, committed to serve and protect the citizens of our town. Through their hard work and dedication, Beaver Borough is one of the safest places in the country to live. Most recent FBI statistics show Beaver with one fifth the incidence of violent crime of either the U.S. or Pennsylvania.
Chief of Police – Dan Madgar Phone: (724) 773-6709  * Emergency dial 911


Boards and Commissions

All Board and Commission inquiries should be referred to the Borough Manager– 469 3rd Street, Beaver PA 15009, 724-773-6700.

  • Business District Authority – Inactive
  • Planning & Zoning Commission – Meet the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Borough Building.
  • Police Civil Service Commission – Meet as needed in the Borough Building.
  • Shade Tree Commission – Meet the fourth Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Borough Building.
  • Zoning Hearing Board – Meet as needed in the Borough Building.
  • Historic Architectural Review Board (HARB) – Meet the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Borough Building.  (No meetings in November or December)


Business District Authority – Inactive

The Business District Authority is responsible for the administration of the facade and streetscape programs and dedicated to the continued improvement of Beaver’s central business district and to the renewal of its nearby community neighborhoods. The Authority serves to promote its vision for the downtown through Organization, Architecture & Design, Business Development, and Community Life initiatives; for connected neighborhood development by a coordinated “Elm Street” approach; and for both by encouraging real community involvement in all renewal efforts. BDA meets the fourth Wednesday of each month at 8:30 a.m. in the Borough Building.

Business District Authority Members: Mary Anne Peluso, Mike Delmaso, Marlin Erin, Mark O’Leary, Chad Whelpley, Linda Lyden


Civil Service Commission

The CSC maintains rules and regulations governing the hiring, promoting or personnel matters of Beaver police officers. They also provide as a first line appeal for officers should they challenge any disciplinary action imposed by Council on a Beaver police officer. The CSC meets as needed.

Civil Service Commission Members: Midge Sefton – Chairman, Martha Scheidmantel, James Todd, John (Jason) Foster, John Rackley – Solicitor  


Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a seven-member body, appointed by Council, and responsible for short and long-term planning within the Borough. The Planning Commission reviews subdivision and land development plans and upon request makes recommendations to the Borough Council concerning issues such as the Borough zoning ordinance. The Planning Commission’s monthly public meetings are held in the Borough Building each third Monday of the month at 7:00 pm.

Planning Commission Members: Liza Fuller – Chair, Robert Rice, Mark Peluso, Larry Renninger, Dan Martone, David O’Leary.
pdficon_small Borough Zoning Map pdficon_small  Comprehensive Plan Review Update


Shade Tree Commission

Trees help make Beaver the special place it is. We are proud to have been named a “Tree City USA.” for the past nine years. To protect and nurture this valuable resource, Beaver operates a five-person Shade Tree Commission that implements a tree maintenance ordinance. Extensive pruning or removal of a tree within the Borough R-O-W requires an application for permit (no charge) from the tree commission. After reviewing your application, a Commission member will visit your property, examine the trees, and make a determination. The Beaver Shade Tree Commission meets the fourth Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Municipal Building.

Shade Tree Commission Members: J. Philip Colavincenzo, Tim Stancec,  Kevin Walker
Tree Removal/Maintenance Application pdficon_small Shade Tree Ordinance pdficon_small  


Tax Collector

  • All employed residents of the Borough of Beaver are subject to a 1% quarterly tax on gross earnings, paid to the Beaver Area School District and Beaver Borough at 0.5% each. If you are employed within Beaver, your employer must withhold the tax from your regular pay. The Earned Income Tax Collector for Beaver is Berkheimer. Ph 1‐800‐360‐8989.
  • Local Tax Collector – Janet Shute is located at Huntington Bank Building, 650 Corporation Street, 4th Floor – Suite 403, Beaver.  Ph 724-774-1686.
    • Effective July 1, 2018 – New Hours:
      • Office hours Wednesday’s 5:00PM – 7:00PM,  Thursday’s 9:00AM – 11:00AM. 
      • In addition,  Saturday’s 9:00AM – 11:00AM during the discount months of March, April, July and August only. 


Zoning Hearing Board

The primary purpose of such a board is to help assure fair and equitable application and administration of the zoning ordinance by hearing appeals on the zoning officer’s determinations and by granting relief from the literal enforcement of the ordinance in certain hardship situations.

Zoning Hearing Board Members: Mike Helms – Chairman, Jack Walker – Solicitor, Mike Kelley, Fred Lloyd, Robyn Johnson, Jenny Hankinson


Historical & Architecture Review Board (HARB)

The HARB is a Board that conducts a systematic review of proposed demolition application of listed contributing properties within Beaver’s designated historic district. The HARB then makes written recommendation to Borough Council, who then make the decision to permit such demolition.

Historic Architectural Review Board Members: Robert Rice, Charles Copeland, Elaine Savoldi, Joseph Rubino, Val Brkich, Ed Hancock, Lisa Sattler
HARB Ordinance pdficon_small