Borough of Beaver, PA Reorganization Meeting January 6, 2020 Minutes

- A reorganization meeting of Beaver Borough Council was held in the Community Room on January 6, 2020 and called to order at 7:00PM by Mayor Hamilton.
- Visitors in attendance (signed in): Midge Sefton, Rick Sprecker
- Mayor Hamilton administered the Oath of Office to reelected Council members; Michael Deelo,
 James Perini, Alex Sebastian and Sean Snowden
 - Certificate of Election and Affidavit of Residence were signed by each
- Mayor Hamilton opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag and roll call.
- Present: Alexander Andres, Frank Bovalino, Michael Deelo, Chris King, Margaret McKean, Adam Rathbun, Alex Sebastian, Sean Snowden. Borough officials in attendance: Mayor Tom Hamilton, Chief Dan Madgar and Solicitor Garen Fedeles.
- Mayor Hamilton opened the floor to nomination for the President of Council
 - Mr. Sebastian nominated Mr. Snowden
 - Roll call vote for Mr. Snowden to be Council President: Mr. Bovalino Yes, Ms. McKean Yes, Mr. Andres Yes, Ms. King Yes, Mr. Sebastian Yes, Mr. Perini Yes, Mr. Rathbun Yes, Mr. Deelo Yes, Mr. Snowden Yes. Motion passed on the indicated roll call vote, 9 0.
- Mr. Snowden opened the floor for nomination of Vice-President of Council
 - Mr. Sebastian nominated Mr. Andres for Vice-President.
 - Roll call vote for Mr. Andres to be Council Vice-President: : Mr. Bovalino Yes, Ms.
 McKean Yes, Mr. Andres Yes, Ms. King Yes, Mr. Sebastian Yes, Mr. Perini Yes, Mr.
 Rathbun Yes, Mr. Deelo Yes, Mr. Snowden Yes. Motion passed on the indicated roll call vote, 9 0.

Public Participation – No comments

Motions to appoint/reappoint

Motion - Beaver Borough Solicitor

Motion by Mr. Andres that Beaver Borough Council reappoint the Law Firm of Santicola, Steele & Fedeles, P.C. as Borough Solicitors. Seconded by Mr. Bovalino. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Borough Manager

Motion by Mr. Sebastian that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Daniel Madgar as the Borough Manager. Seconded by Mr. Andres. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Borough Secretary

Motion by Ms. McKean that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Deborah Hindman as the Borough Secretary. Seconded by Mr. Perini. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion - Borough Treasurer

Motion by Ms. King that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Daniel Madgar as the Borough Treasurer. Seconded by M. King. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Borough Engineer

Motion by Ms. McKean that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Dan Martone as the Borough Engineer. Seconded by Mr. Deelo. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion - Beaver Borough Health Officer

Motion by Mr. Rathbun that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Nick Sheleheda as Health Officer. Seconded by Mr. Deelo. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Beaver Borough Financial Auditor

Motion by Mr. Deelo that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Cottrill Arbutina and Associates, P.C. as the Independent Financial Auditor for Beaver Borough. Seconded by Mr. Bovalino. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion - Beaver Borough Official Publication

Motion by Ms. King that Beaver Borough Council reappoint the Beaver County Times as the official publication of Beaver Borough. Seconded by Ms. McKean. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Delegate to Beaver County Regional Council of Governments

Motion by Mr. Sebastian that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Alexander Andres as the delegate to Beaver County Regional Council of Governments. Seconded by Mr. Perini. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Alternate Delegate to Beaver County Regional Council of Governments Motion by Mr. Andres that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Margaret McKean as the alternate

delegate to the Beaver County Regional Council of Governments. Seconded by Mr. Bovalino. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Earned Income Tax (EIT) voting delegate

Motion by Mr. Andres that Beaver Borough Council reappoint James Perini as the Beaver County Regional Council of Governments – EIT voting delegate. Seconded by Ms. King. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion - Earned Income Tax & Per Capita Tax Collector

Motion by Mr. Deelo that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Berkheimer as the Earned Income and Per Capita Tax Collector. Seconded by Ms. McKean. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Real Estate Transfer Tax

Motion by Mr. Sebastian that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Beaver County Recorder of Deeds for Real Estate Transfer Tax. Seconded by Mr. Perini. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Official Depository

Motion by Ms. King that Beaver Borough Council reappoint PNC Financial Services Group, Inc. (PNC) as the official depository for Beaver Borough. Seconded by Mr. Perini. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Building Code Enforcement

Motion by Mr. Deelo that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Middle Department Inspection Agency (MDIA) and their representative as Building Code Enforcement Officer. Seconded by Mr. Rathbun. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Zoning Officer

Motion by Mr. Sebastian that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Dan Martone as the Zoning Officer for Beaver Borough. Seconded by Mr. Deelo. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Vacancy Board Chair

Motion by Ms. McKean that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Midge Sefton as the Vacancy Board Chair for a two year term. Seconded by Mr. Deelo. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Reappoint Municipal Authority member

Motion by Ms. McKean, Based on the Municipal Authority minutes dated November 20, 2019, I move that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Michael Deelo to the Municipal Authority Board for a five (5) year term. Term will expire January 2025. Seconded by Ms. King. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion - Reappoint Shade Tree Commission member

Motion by Ms. King that Beaver Borough Council reappoint Tim Stancec as a member of the Shade Tree Commission for a five year term. Term will expire December 2024. Seconded by Ms. McKean. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Motion – Reappoint Zoning Hearing Board members

Motion by Ms. McKean, Based on the recommendation by the President of the Zoning Hearing Board, I move that Beaver Borough Council reappoint the following members to the Zoning Hearing Board: Fred Lloyd for a two (2) year term. Term to expire December 31, 2021. Mike Kelley and Robyn Johnson for three (3) year terms. Terms to expire December 31, 2022. Seconded by Mr. Rathbun. Voice vote passed unanimously.

New Business

Motion - 2020 Fee Schedule

Motion by Mr. Rathbun that Beaver Borough Council approve the attached Beaver Borough Fee Schedule for 2020. Seconded by Mr. Sebastian. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Mr. Snowden announced there will be an Executive Session after adjournment to discuss real estate and contract negotiations. No motions will be made after Executive Session.

Motion to adjourn by Mr. Rathbun. Seconded by Mr. Bovalino. Voice vote passed unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 7:27PM

Executive Session ended at 8:23PM

Submitted by Debbie Hindman